62° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Public File
KBPY Public File

(Neb.)-Three Field Athletes Make RMAC All-Academic First Team

By: Dennis Brown Posted at: 05/13/2018 07:38 AM
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Chadron State College sophomore Ashton Hallsted, Junior Cory Martens, and senior Ashlyn Hanson were selected to the 2018 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Track and Field All-Academic First Team by a vote of the league's sports information directors.

The trio are all three former national qualifiers, and two are multiple winners of the award.

Hallsted, a native of Casper, Wyoming, earns First Team honors in her first year eligible. The throwing prodigy became a Second Team All-American this year at the indoor championships, and is poised to accept an invitation to the outdoor meet, pending Monday's selections. She carries a 3.87 cumulative GPA in biology.

Martens, of Newton, Kansas, went to the NCAA outdoor meet as a sophomore in 2017. This is his third consecutive RMAC All-Academic First Team award, after winning it for outdoor track and field in 2017 and the 2018 indoor season. Martens has a 3.9 GPA in interdisciplinary studies.

Hanson is now a four-time First Teamer. The two-time national qualifier from Seward, Nebraska, hopes to make her third consecutive NCAA appearance in two weeks, after finishing 13th in the nation at the previous two national meets. She finishes with a perfect 4.0 GPA in elementary education.

Seven men and nine women earned All-Academic honor roll, by virtue of having a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or better. They are Austin Fajfer (Highlands Ranch, Colorado); Josef Gertner (Fort Morgan, Colorado);Riley Howard (Anchorage, Alaska); Blake Jacobs (Highlands Ranch); Greggory Peterson (Highlands Ranch); Cory Salitrik (Rock Springs, Wyoming); and Eric Yager (Hot Springs, South Dakota) for the men. The women are Maddie Brashears (Fort Morgan); Haley Gallagher (Erie, Colorado); Alisha Heelan(Oshkosh, Nebraska); Alyse Henry (Rock Springs); Cassidy Johnson (Rock Springs); Sarah Myers(Anton, Colorado); Dominique Oden (Anaheim, California); Savannah Silbaugh (Upton, Wyoming); andAlyssa Valko (Wray, Colorado).

Gertner, a senior, has earned the maximum of 12 academic honor rolls in his career, going back to 2015 cross country.

Derrick Williams of Colorado State University-Pueblo, and Alicia Konieczek of Western State, were the 2018 RMAC Outdoor Track and Field Academic Athletes of the Year.


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.