56° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)- Herl Voted RMAC Field Athlete Of The Year

By: Jeremy Anderson Posted at: 03/07/2017 01:50 PM
COLORADO SPRINGS -- Chadron State College thrower Mel Herl has been voted RMAC Field Athlete of the Year, and along with nine other CSC women and five men, was named among the indoor track and field student-athletes receiving All-RMAC honors in the conference's 2017 all-star announcements.

First and second place individual finishers at the 2017 RMAC Indoor Track and Field Championships in February were awarded First Team honors automatically, while Second Team awards applied to third and fourth individual placers. Relay teams earned First Team for the gold medal and Second Team for taking silver.

Herl's performance at the RMAC meet was her second-best of the year, and broke both the RMAC meet record from 2011, held by former CSC thrower Jessica Horsley, and the facility record which she set earlier in the season, by marking 21.80 meters (71' 6.25"). She followed that up with a gold medal in the shot put, coming just an inch and a half shy of another meet record, which was held by defending outdoor shot put national champ Madison McLaughlin of BHSU. Herl will represent Chadron State at the NCAA Indoor National Championships this week.

Other First Team All-RMAC recipients were conference champs Stachia Reuwsaat (long jump) and Tessa Gorsuch (60 meter hurdles), as well as Michelle Carbajal (triple jump), Ashlyn Hanson (weight throw), and, for the men, Jesse Bleidt (weight throw). Reuwsaat, finishing second in the 60 meter dash, was a two-time recipient this season and will compete at nationals in both events, along with Herl and Gorsuch.

Second Team honorees include Alisha Heelan (400 meter dash), Haley Gallagher (pole vault), Maddie Brashears (long jump), Keri Ruff (weight throw), Chasidy Horton (pentathlon), and men's placers Andre Woodson (60 meter dash), Justin Leman (60 meter hurdles, heptathlon), Blake Jacobs (shot put, weight throw), and Cory Martens (weight throw).

Herl's Field Athlete of the Year award follows former CSC multi-event star Shelby Bozner's, who won it for the 2016 outdoor season.


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.