60° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Jones presented with Clyde Bond Memorial Award

By: Andrew Lacy Posted at: 05/06/2013 11:06 AM
CHADRON – Mollie Jones of Longmont, Colo., was presented the Clyde Bond Memorial Award during Ivy Day at Chadron State College Friday night.

The award is given annually to CSC upperclassmen who exemplify the leadership skills, character and athletic abilities which Bond displayed during his four years Chadron State.

Jones was a four year starter at outside hitter for the Chadron State volleyball team. As a senior, she finished with 214 kills and 284 digs. She was named to the 2012 Capital One All-Academic District Six First Team and she was a two-time RMAC All-Academic selection.

She was president of the Legal Studies Club, a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and graduated Saturday with a bachelor’s degree in legal studies. She will pursue a graduate degree in sports management.

For her career, Jones played in 105 matches, which is among the school’s leaders. She also scored over 800 points in her career and is one of a handful of Eagles who had over 700 kills and 800 digs.

Bond was a native of Sheridan, Wyo., and a pitcher on the Chadron State baseball team. After graduating, he was attending a Southern Baptist seminary in Louisville, Ky., when he died on April 15, 1981 in an accident while mowing a church lawn. The award was established by family members and friends, and has been given annually.

There are now 35 recipients of the award.

Bond Memorial Award Winners
1981—Ben Eicher, 1982—Clark Mitchell, 1983—Barb Zurn, 1984—Charlie Mitchell, 1985—Chris Wentling, 1986—Scott Christensen, 1987—Mark Carlisle, 1988—Tom Overstreet, 1989—Don Beebe, 1990—Tari Nelson, 1991—Kail Bowman, 1992—Jay Rhoades, 1993—Dawn Hutchins, 1994—Jason Sleep, 1995—Tony Dammen, 1996—Jennifer Vasey, 1997—Kerry Bailey, 1998—Jamie Knapke, 1999—Mike Brownfield, 2000—Julie Guzzy, 2001—Melissa Burke, 2002—John Dykes, 2003—Austin Forster, 2004—Ben Holscher, 2005—Lindsay Erwin, 2006—Joel Duffield, 2007—Kalan Jones; 2008—Landon Ehlers, 2009—Sara Pilakowski and Zach Wheeler, 2010—Stacy Girard, 2011—John Ritzen and Joe Schultz, 2012—Jeff Alcorn, 2013—Mollie Jones.


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.