66° F
Current Conditions
Visit fnbo.com
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

KCSR Public File
KBPY Public File

(Neb)-Grant, Skavdahl Win CC Races, Riggs And Nixon Advance For Crawford Countil

By: John Axtell Posted at: 05/13/2020 02:52 AM
CHADRON - Chadron businessman Levi Grant made a successful return to politics on Tuesday, defeating Tony Johnson for the Republican nomination for Dawes County Commissioner District 3.

      Grant, who hadn't run for office since losing a city council reelection bid in 2014, took 407 votes or 52% to Johnson's 364 or 48%.

       The only other contested race in Dawes County was a 3-way battle for Crawford City Council North Ward.  Zac Riggs led the way with 92 votes of 62%, former Mayor Dave Nixon got 34 votes of 23%, and Troy DeGunia received 23 and 16%. Riggs and Nixon advance to November.

      The only contested local race in Sioux or Sheridan Counties was the Republican primary for Sioux County Commissioner. Incumbent Josh Skavdahl easily defeated challenger Jim Voeller 296-132.

      Dawes County had a 56% turnout on the all-mail ballot.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.