95° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

KCSR Public File
KBPY Public File

(Neb)-CSC Recognizes Top Freshmen With Rising Sophomore Awards

By: John Axtell Posted at: 04/06/2019 10:28 PM
CHADRON - Chadron State College recognized its top freshmen Thursday with the 4th annual Rising Sophomore Awards Ceremony.

     The awards were established by the college retention committee to recognize students who have gone above and beyond in a variety of categories during their freshman year. Award winners were nominated by faculty, staff or peers.

      Keynote speaker Brittany Helmbrecht, an instructor in Health, Physical, Education, and Recreation while also pursuing a doctorate in Health Education, told the freshman not to worry if they decide to change majors in the future.

      Helmbrecht assured them that changing majors is a normal part of college, and she encouraged them to get involved in clubs and jobs on campus because they provide opportunities to explore future career options.

      The Rising Sophomore Awards include one that actually goes to a sophomore - the Young Eagle Award, which recognizes a rising sophomore who has made significant accomplishments as a leader who has affected positive change on campus.

      Celeste Cardona, last year's recipient, spoke about the importance of overcoming failure, persisting in college, and choosing healthy options to manage stress - then presented this year's award to Tyreek Bryant of Denver.

       CSC Dean of Applied Sciences, Curriculum and Assessment and Accreditation James H. Powell Sr. and his wife Karla, made the latest presentation of an award created in memory of their son.

     The James H. Powell Jr. Academic Achievement Award recognizes a rising sophomore who participated in the Transitional Studies program and has demonstrated excellence while achieving academic goals.

      This year's recipient of the Powell Award, which includes a $500 scholarship, is Estabon Bozeman of Los Angeles.

Other awards included:

Community Engagement  -  Damien Zuniga of Colorado Springs, Colo.

This award recognizes the efforts of a rising sophomore who is living out a vision of connections between campus and community through service and giving.

Student Peer-Leader of the Year  -  Madilyn Barraza of Scottsbluff, Neb.

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who has been an effective peer-leader. Peer-leaders play a variety of roles including mentor, teacher, friend, and cheerleader. The recipient of this award uses friendship, experience, expertise, and perspective to promote the individual development of her or his fellow first-year students. In addition, the students were nominated by their peers.

Student-Athlete of the Year  -  Alpine Hickstein of Chadron

This award recognizes a rising sophomore whose work and service on or off the athletic field or gym represents excellence in academics and service. The recipient of the award is a strong and active advocate for student-athletes.

Artist of the Year - Davon Johnson of Ballwin, Mo.

This award recognizes the musical, theatrical, writing, or artistic creativity of a rising sophomore who has made an outstanding contribution to the musical, theater or artistic life of the college through demonstration, performance, composition, and/or group leadership.

Unsung Hero - Michelle Nett of Cheyenne, Wyo.

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who works behind-the-scenes consistently going above and beyond the call of duty as the member of a group. Consideration is based on the following criteria: A strong commitment to the group, positively influences the group from behind the scenes, positive attitude toward Chadron State College and the group, strong attendance commitment and accountability to a project or group, and completes tasks and duties with a high level of quality.

Working Eagle  -  Collin Sanders of Merriman, Neb.

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who has effectively balanced academics with his or her on- or off-campus job.

Residence Hall Citizen of the Year - Kelsey Crock of Cheyenne, Wyo.

This award recognizes a rising sophomore from the residence halls for outstanding service to her or his floor. This student has demonstrated engaged citizenship, including leadership, self-governance and peer accountability.

They are respectful of all members of the community and have positively contributed to the Residence Hall organizations. Most importantly, this individual is a leader and role model for his or her peers and consistently serves his or her community to enact positive changes within it.

First Generation Eagle  -  Jahani Wright of Miami Gardens, Fla.

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who would be the first in his or her family to attain a four-year degree upon graduation. This award recipient will have successfully navigated the academic, financial, and social aspects of college life.

Excellence in the Advancement of Social Justice - Sarah Wagoner of Mitchell, Neb.

This award recognizes a rising sophomore whose single action or repeated behaviors has moved the college forward in its commitment to building an inclusive and just community. The recipient is one who has contributed to finding solutions to challenges as it relates to social justice.

Diversity in Thought and Experience - Imran Ayele of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who is a strong and active advocate for diverse communities, and challenges and supports students to engage beyond what is comfortable.

Academic Grit - Kylie Peters of Rushville, Neb. and Juan Estrada of Denver

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who has made significant steps in his or her academic development. This award recipient will demonstrate noticeable growth in the areas of academic achievement and will have utilized campus resources to have done so.

Student Leader of the Year - Caprise Cominiello of Burlington, Colo.

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who has a zest for life and learning, a strong commitment to CSC and the community, and a demonstrated belief in the goodness of all people.

Outstanding Academic Awards

Education: Madilyn Barraza of Scottsbluff, Neb.

Applied Science and Rangeland: Hayden McGinnis of Buena Vista, Colo.

Family and Consumer Sciences: Cole Martinez of Ulysses, Neb.

Music: Ashley Jackson of Mitchell, Neb.

Psychological Sciences: Kori Teasley of Custer, S.D.

Health and Physical Education/Sport and Recreation Management: Machaela Puck of Bennington, Neb.

K-12 Health and Physical Education: Faith Simon of Burwell, Neb.

History: Natalie Boyd of Stratton, Neb.

Social Science: Kaitlyn Hayhurst of Scottsbluff, Neb.

Social Work: Destiny Beacham of Wauneta, Neb.

Theatre: Kyeisha Garza of Scottsbluff, Neb., and Kori Teasley of Custer, S.D.

Business Administration-Management: Cassidy Horn of Colorado Springs, Colo.

Art: Rylie Cole of Minden, Neb.

Communication: Kyle Rayl of Yuma, Colo.

English: Kaitlyn Yuen of Commerce City, Colo.

Pre-Physical Therapy: Joss Linse of Plattsmouth, Neb.

Pre-Dental Hygiene: Gabrielle Rader of Lexington, Neb.

Pre-Nursing: Ashley Maschmeler of Gering, Neb.

Pre-Medicine: McKinna Faulkenberry of Randolph, Neb.

Pre-Veterinary Medicine: Beau Jerslid of Chadron

Pre-Radiography: Katelyn Keffeler of Holdrege, Neb.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.