95° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

KCSR Public File
KBPY Public File

(Neb)-Dawes County Officials Taking Oath Of Office 8 AM Thurs

By: John Axtell Posted at: 01/03/2019 01:29 AM
CHADRON -  The Dawes County officials elected in November will take the oath of office this morning in an 8:00 ceremony in the District Courtroom in Chadron.

       All but 2 county offices - public defender and commissioner District 3 - are decided in non-presidential election years.

       There were only 2 contested races this year and both of were contested in only the Republican primary. Commissioner District 2 Vic Rivera defeated Stacy Swinney and Sam Wellnitz won a multi-candidate battle for the vacant treasurer's position to become the only newcomer.

      Clerk of the District Court Celeste Cattin was also newly elected, but had been appointed to the position last year after the retirement of Sharon Harrison.

       Of the other Dawes County elected officials, Sheriff Karl Dailey is starting his county-record 9th term and County Attorney Vance Haug his 6th.

      This is the 5th term for County Clerk Cheryl Feist, the 4th for Assessor Lindy Coleman, 3rd for District 1 County Commissioner Jake Stewart, and the 2nd for Rivera.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.