34° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Public File
KBPY Public File

(Neb)-Rivera, Wellnitz, Norgard, Thompson Winners In Dawes Co Primaries

By: John Axtell Posted at: 05/15/2018 09:33 PM
CHADRON - A combination of new and old faces were the winners in the 3 contested primaries Tuesday in Dawes County. Turnout for the primary was 30%.

        In the 3-way Republican primary for County Commissioner District 2, incumbent Vic Rivera was an easy winner with 50% of the total...178 votes.

     Former Commissioner Stacy Swinney was second with 111 or 31% and former Sioux County commissioner Kevin Lotton at 67 votes or 19%. Rivera also defeated Swinney in the primary 4 years ago.

     Political newcomer Sam Wellnitz won almost as handily in the 3-candidate GOP primary for County Treasurer, collecting 571 votes or 46% compared to 375 or 30% for Rhonda Schleuning and 293 or 24% for Jennifer Dean.

      Both Wellnitz and Rivera are unopposed in November, or at least they are for now as other candidates could petition in later.

     The other contested race in Dawes County was Crawford City Council, South Ward. Incumbent Roy Norgard was the top votegetter with 79 or 43% while Ronnie Thompson grabbed the other spot on the November ballot with 60 votes or 32%. Susan Leeling got 46 votes or 25%.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.