76° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Public File
KBPY Public File

(Neb)-It's Primary Election Day In Nebraska!

By: John Axtell Posted at: 05/15/2018 08:20 AM
CHADRON -  Today is Primary Election Day in Nebraska with the polls open from 7:00 a-m to 7:00 p-m MT. We'll have periodic results on KCSR and KBPY starting at 8:00. There aren't many contested local races in the Northern Panhandle - 3 in Dawes County, 2 in Sheridan, and 1 in Sioux - so most of those will have only 1 or 2 reports at most.
       The only voting site in Dawes County is the Assumption Arena in Chadron, which is handling precincts 1-6 and #8. Precincts 7 Victory Heights, #9 Whitney, and Crawford precincts 10 and 11 are all now mail-only precincts with ballots also due by 7:00 tonight.

    The 3 contested Dawes County races include Crawford City Council South Ward, where incumbent Roy Norgard has 2 challengers, Susan Leeling and Ronnie Thompson, with the top 2 vote getters going on to November. The other two races are the Republican primaries for County Treasurer and County Commissioner District 2, each with 3 candidates and only 1 advancing.

      All 3 men running for county commissioner have experience in the job. Vic Rivera is the incumbent, Stacy Swinney was the incumbent and lost to Rivera 4 years ago, and Kevin Lotton served a term as Sioux County Commissioner before moving to a ranch south of Crawford.

      The Treasurer's race has no incumbent, and one of the reasons for that could affect how voters see one of the contenders. Rhonda Schluening worked in the Treasurer's office for 17 years under multiple treasurers and was named interim treasurer last summer when Barb Sebesta resigned, but Schluening resigned herself when the commissioners passed her over to fill the remainder of Sebesta's term.

      The commissioners' choice, Chelsie Sparks, resigned herself in March and the commissioners named Shellie Decker to finish out the year and Decker chose not to seek the full term, leaving a primary election field of Schluening, Sam Wellnitz and Jennifer Dean.

      One of the two Sheridan County races on today's ballot is the Republican primary for sheriff, where long-time incumbent Terry "Homer" Robbins has decided not to run again. There are 2 candidates in the race, Chris Henry and Jeff Brewer.

       The other primary is for the Gordon-Rushville School Board where 6 of the 8 candidates will advance to November. They are Kari Johnson, Dave Johnson, Krystal Freeseman, Jeff Hugan, Sandy Hathorn, Michelle Retzlaff, and Kathleen Willnerd.

       The only contested race in Sioux County is in the southern part where voters who live in the North Platte Natural Resources District will vote for one of five candidates for a Subdistrict 1 seat. Seeking the office are Joshua Smith, Steven Dolberg, Ryan Reuter, Sam Summerville and Trevor Schneider.

       Although U-S Senator Deb Fischer, Congressman Adrian Smith, and Governor Pete Ricketts all have opponents in the Republican primary, all are expected to win easily. The Democrats have no contested statewide races except for governor and U-S Senate.

       Fisher has 4 challengers - Jack Heidel, Dennis Macek, Jeffrey Stein and Todd Watson - Smith has 3 Kirk Penner, Larry Bolinger and Arron Kowalski - and Ricketts faces Krystal Gabel, best-known for her efforts in the petition drive to establish the Nebraska Marijuana Party.

       There are 4 Democrats vying for Fischer's seat - Jayne Raybould, Frank Svoboda, Larry Marvin, and  Chris Janicek - and 3 to become governor - Vanessa Ward, Tyler Davis and Bob Krist

      There are 2 statewide offices without incumbents as Secretary of State John Gale and Treasurer Don Stenberg aren't seeking reelection. The GOP primaries for each have 2 candidates -  Bob Evnen and Debra Perrell to succeed Gale and John Murante and Taylor Royal for treasurer.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.