57° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb)-Filing Deadline Leaves 3 Contested Primaries In Dawes County

By: John Axtell Posted at: 03/02/2018 11:40 AM
CHADRON - There will be only 3 contested local races in Dawes County for the May 15th primary election - Republican primaries for County Commissioner District 2 and County Treasurer and the city of Crawford South Ward - and all the candidates for county office are Republicans.

      The treasurer's race went from no candidates to 3 on Thursday, the filing deadline with Sam Wellnitz, Jennifer Dean, and Rhonda Schleuning all turning in their paperwork that day. Schleuning was the chief deputy under Treasurer Barb Sebesta and served as interim Treasurer for about a month after Sebesta resigned last July.

      The Commissioner District 2 race pits incumbent Vic Rivera against Kevin Lotton and former commissioner Stacy Swinney, the man Rivera ousted in the 2014 election.

       Two of the 3 candidates in the Crawford South Ward race will advance to November. That trio is incumbent Roy Norgard and challengers Susan Leeling and Ronnie Thompson.

      A fifth candidate joined the Chadron City Council race at the filing deadline. Jennifer Fintel missed winning a seat two years ago by just 85 votes and is running again, but under her new married name that's been hyphenated for the election as Fintel Jensen

      With 3 seats on the council open, all 5 candidates advance to the November election - incumbents Miles Bannan and Mark Werner plus Cheryl Welch and A-J Bassett.

     The same situation applies to the Chadron School Board, 5 candidates for 3 positions, but for a time yesterday it looked as if there would be a full slate of 6 candidates for November when Andy Gooder filed. That changed when incumbent Jim O'Rourke, who'd filed for reelection on the incumbent deadline of February 15th, changed his mind and withdrew.

     All the other races in Dawes County have the minimum number of candidates except the Whitney Village Board and the Crawford School Board. No one has filed for the 2 spots in Whitney, but those are directly elected in November anyway and having a filing deadline of July 16th for incumbents and August 1st for non-incumbents.

      Incumbent Marie Wohlers is the only candidate to file for the Crawford School Board, but County Clerk Cheryl Feist says incumbent James Wasserburger intended to but missed the deadline. She checked with state election officials and Wasserburger's only option is to run in November as a declared write-in candidate, and he told her he planned to do that.

     Feist says a non-incumbent also planned to run, but was out of town and missed the deadline. They can still be placed on the ballot by petition and the deadline for that isn't until September 4th. Declared write-in candidates have until October 26th to submit a notorized affidavit.

      There are 6 seats on the Upper Niobrara White Natural Resources District Board up for election and each had just one candidate. Seats are either at-large or by sub-district, but all are decided by district-wide votes.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.