73° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Public File
KBPY Public File

(Neb)-Nearly All Dawes County Incumbents Already Filed For Election

By: John Axtell Posted at: 12/07/2017 12:43 PM
CHADRON -Only one Dawes County elected official has yet to file to run in next year's election. County Treasurer Chelsie Sparks said when she was appointed this summer to succeed Barb Sebesta that she expected to file for a full term, but County Clerk Cheryle Feist says Sparks told her she's still deciding if she will run

     Yesterday, County Attorney Vance Haug filed for his 6th 4-year term, while Feist, Sheriff Karl Dailey, Assessor Lindy Coleman, Commissioners Jake Stewart and Vic Rivera, and Clerk of the District Court Celeste Cattin had all filed on Friday - the opening day - or Monday.

     Dailey is running for his county-record 9th term with Feist seeking her 5th, Coleman her 4th, Stewart his 3rd, and Rivera his 2nd. Cattin was appointed court clerk earlier this year after Sharon Harrison retired.

     Rivera will be challenged in the May Republican primary by former 2-term commissioner Stacy Swinney, the man he beat in 2014.

      The only city or school board filing Feist has received so far is from Crawford Mayor Dave Nixon, who is seeking a second term.

       Last Friday was the first day that Nebraska incumbents could file for next year's election and all but one of the Dawes County officials up for election have already filed.

         Incumbents in Nebraska have until February 15th to file to either run again or seek a new office while non-incumbents have until March 1st to make up their minds.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.