58° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb)-Only 1 Of 11 Neb Tourism Comm Members From The Panhandle

By: John Axtell Posted at: 09/08/2017 11:40 AM
LINCOLN, Neb. (AP) -  Governor Pete Ricketts has appointed 11 members to the Nebraska Tourism Commission as part of a revamping of the agency done by the Legislature earlier this year in the wake of financial and oversight scandals that led the commission to fire its executive director last year.

        The revamping expanded the commission from 9 to 11 members and requires at least 4 to have professional, volunteer or public service experience related to the commission's duties while 7 must be affiliated with the tourism industry.
    The governor's 11 new appointees include several current or past commission members, among them Roger Kuhn, one of the top administrators at Nebraska Game and Parks for more than a quarter-century.

     Four of the 11 are from the western half of the state: Roger Jasnoch of Kearney, Sarah Sortum of Burwell, Barry McFarland of Lexington, and Starr Lehl of Minatare.
      Lehl was recently named economic development director for the city of Scottsbluff, but is a former Gering mayor and was the western representative of the governor's office or the state office of economic development for better than a decade.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.