64° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Fire Assistance For Fences, Sign Up Through January 31st

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 12/26/2012 11:31 AM

(NORTHWEST NEB.)-Farms and ranches with fences damaged by fire may be eligible for assistance under the Emergency Conservation Program (ECP), administered by the Dawes/N. Sioux and Sheridan County Farm Service Agency.
A producer qualifying for ECP assistance may receive cost-share levels not to exceed 75 percent of the eligible cost of restoration measures.  By statute, the damage to the land “will be so costly to rehabilitate that federal assistance is or will be required to return the land to productive agricultural use.” No producer is eligible for less than $1,000 and more than $200,000 cost sharing per natural disaster occurrence.
For barbed wire, high tensile wire, woven wire, and heavy-duty fences, posts shall be placed no closer than l2 feet apart and made of metal, treated wood, or other material meeting NRCS technical standards and specifications. Wire fences must consist of no more than five strands of wire. Labor rates shall be the prevailing rate in the county. 
Cost-sharing for fencing is adjusted based on the age of the fence. **NOTE: Fences over 30 years of age that have been well maintained will often qualify for cost-share as 11-30 years of age.
If age of fence at time of fire disaster is...
Then the allowable C/S percentage is...
0 to 5 years
100 percent.
6 to 10 years
75 percent.
11 to 30 years
60 percent.
over 30 years
0 percent, if all components are over 30 years old.
Please call your local FSA office to schedule an appointment to sign up for ECP benefits. 
County Committee Election Results
Dawes/Northern Sioux County USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committee elections are over, the ballots are counted and the results are in…Robert Hawthorne was re-elected to represent LAA 2 and Lonnie Douthit was re-elected to represent LAA 4. No eligible alternates were nominated in 2012.    
Elected county committee members serve a three-year term and are responsible for making decisions on FSA disaster, conservation, commodity, and price support programs, as well as other important federal farm program issues.
County committee members are local producers who participate in FSA programs themselves and have a direct connection to farmers and ranchers in the community. Re-elected county committee members will take office on January 1st, 2013.
For questions, please contact the Dawes/N. Sioux County Office in Chadron at 432-4616, ext. 2, the Sheridan County Office in Rushville at 327-2489, ext. 2, or the Box Butte County Office in Alliance at 762-4322, ext. 2.
--USDA Farm Service Agency


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.