68° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.) - Brother, sister win Ivy Day vote

By: John Thayer Posted at: 05/05/2012 06:42 AM

Chadron State College students “kept it in the family” when choosing an Ivy Day king and queen.

The royalty honors, which are determined by a vote of the student body, went to Luke and Stacee Wright of Hamlet, brother and sister who are graduating Saturday.

Ivy Day, which was Friday night in Memorial Hall, was a big event for the Wrights. Luke and Nisha Durand of Salisbury, Dominica, were presented the annual Platinum Eagle awards, which are presented annually to one male and one female for “distinguished leadership and service.” The Platinum Eagle is considered to be the highest honor a CSC student can receive.

The Wrights were presented with certificates of merit for being outstanding students in their fields of study – Luke in psychology and Stacee in business management. Luke lists involvement in more than two dozen campus organizations, including a term as president of the Campus Activities Board. Stacee also was recognized Friday for graduating magna cum laude and her service as an admissions ambassador. Luke graduated from Wauneta-Palisade High School in 2007, and Stacee a year later. This marks the first time a brother and sister have simultaneously claimed king and queen. Siblings Rachel and Austin Forster of Gordon claimed the crowns on separate years.

Durand received a certificate of merit for human biology, and has been active in many campus organizations and activities, including the International Club, Residence Life Association, Student Senate and Cardinal Key. Graduating summa cum laude, she has been accepted to enter professional training for biochemistry and molecular biology at Mayo Graduate School at Rochester, Minn.

Durand also served as an Ivy Day orator, along with Kyle Klammer of Ainsworth and Riley Machal of Gretna. Deb Stewart, retiring social work professor, was faculty greeter.

The winners of the royalty competition and Platinum Eagle were just some of the outstanding spring 2012 and winter 2011 CSC graduates who received accolades during Ivy Day. The annual event, which has occurred at CSC every year since 1920, is sponsored by the Blue Key and Cardinal Key honor societies.

A total of 47 graduates were recognized with certificates of merit as outstanding students in their primary fields of study, or presented other special honors. The honorees included graduates who earned peer tutor certification from the College Reading and Learning Association, and those who served as Supplemental Instruction leaders and Admissions Ambassadors.

Special recognition also was given to 78 students who graduated with one of three honor designations – summa cum laude, magna cum laude and cum laude. Following is the list of honors, with certificates of merit indicated by subject area.



Ainsworth: Kyle Klammer, Human Biology, Supplemental Instruction Leader.

Alliance: Collin Lybarger, Music; Misty Graham, General Business.

Atkinson: Jean Dobias, Art.

Bridgeport: Natalie Hadden, National Business Education Association Award.

Chadron: Jeffrey Alcorn, Clyde Bond Award for scholar-athletes with outstanding sportsmanship and character; Kelsey Amos, Literature, Tutor Certification; Kently Kelso, Literature; Rebecca Chasek, Legal Studies.

Cody: Samantha Evans, Agriculture.

Crawford: Aubrey Soester, Admissions Ambassador; Cassidy Emerson, Agriculture.

Eustis: Cressey Yeutter, Recreation.

Gordon: Jacob Sasse, Mathematics; Jennifer Taylor, Psychology.

Gothenburg: Robert France, Health Science.

Grand Island: Ashley Chalupa, Tutor Certification.

Hamlet: Stacee Wright, Business Management, Admissions Ambassador.

Hay Springs: Angela Heesacker, Theatre; Derek Ginn, Business Education.

Hemingford: Trace Armstrong, Agribusiness.

Kearney: Kaitlin Petri, Finance, Business Administration.

Kimball: Lanelle Janicek, Elementary Education Academy.

Minatare: Shalee Jones, Theatre.

Morrill: Amber Nightingale, Theatre.

North Platte: Courtney Simants, Regional Elementary Education.

Ord: Riley Machal, Human Biology, Tutor Certification, Supplemental Instruction Leader.

Palisade: Luke Wright, Psychology.

Scottsbluff: Kate Mumm, Health.

Sidney: January Coe, Marketing.

Thedford: Cody Merchant, Accounting, Tutor Certification.

Other States and Nations

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: Abenezer Tadesse, Chemistry, Tutor Certification.

Box Elder, S.D.: Regina Ertz, Psychology.

Cheyenne, Wyo.: Mason Quinn, Theatre.

East Lansing, Mich.: Kyle McAlister, Natural Sciences.

Littleton, Colo.: Kinley Nichols, Communication Arts.

Moreno Valley, Calif.: Ann Robinson, Library Information Management.

Orem, Utah: Hannah Sanders, Music.

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad: Shari Wattley, Business Information Systems.

Rapid City, S.D.: Kaitlyn Anderson, Social Work.

Rawlins, Wyo.: Kelsey Warren, Physical Education.

Salisbury, Dominica: Nisha Durand, Human Biology.

Sheridan, Wyo.: Kyle Grammens, Criminal Justice.

Torrington, Wyo.: Anibal Ponce, Family and Consumer Science; Matthew Templar, Pre-Law.

Whitewood, S.D.: Kelsey Kaitfors, Music, Supplemental Instruction Leader.

Wyoming, Iowa: Sarah Jones, Social Work.



Ainsworth: Kyle Klammer

Alliance: Jesse Schmid

Chadron: Rebecca Chasek, Tara Ledbetter

Gordon: Jacob Sasse, Jennifer Taylor

Gothenburg: Robert France

Kearney: Kaitlin Petri

Mitchell: Cory Kinsey

Morrill: Amber Nightingale

Nelson: Micaela VanSkiver

North Platte: Courtney Simants

Scottsbluff: Kate Mumm

Other States and Nations

Panama City, Fla.: Lynsey Mofield-Besenyi

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad: Shari Wattley

Salisbury, Dominica: Nisha Durand

Sheridan, Wyo.: Kelsey Diaz

Torrington, Wyo.: Matthew Templar



Alliance: Elizabeth Weishaar

Atkinson: Rebeka Laible

Bayard: Traci Fast

Brady: Amy Schartz

Broken Bow: Allison Rowden

Callaway: Traci Kennedy, Dalton Nelsen

Chadron: Kelsey Amos, Kently Kelso, Heather Moore

Creighton: Lisa Smith

Elwood: Christopher Schwarz

Gering: Tammie Kleich

Hamlet: Stacee Wright

Lawrence: Rebecca Kathman

Mullen: Abbey Zimmerman

Norfolk: Haley Kathol

Ord: Riley Machal

Palisade: Judy Durham

Scottbluff: Calico Cowan, Jennifer Vogel

Stapleton: Ryan Mumm

Thedford: Cody Merchant

Valentine: Ashley Dobry

Other States and Nations

Box Elder, S.D.: Regina Ertz

Glendive, Mont.: Bethany Seifert

Kingston, Jamaica: Paul McGowan, Lanar Newman

Moreno Valley, Calif.: Ann Robinson

Orem, Utah: Hannah Sanders

Rapid City, S.D.: Kendra Reuer

Wyoming, Iowa: Sarah Jones



Bridgeport: Natalie Hadden, Chance Wallesen

Burwell: Alex Petersen

Crawford: Samuel Ballard

Dix: Pamela Haack

Gering: Lisa VanWinkle

Grand Island: Ashley Chalupa

Hemingford: April Stangle

Hooper: Kelsey Bogus

Maxwell: Joni Keith

Minatare: Justin Koke

Oshkosh: Chloe Olson

Palisade: Autumn Alberts

Scottsbluff: Paige Wayman

Sidney: Kayla Glanz, Tamlyn Polson

Sumner: Lana Karlberg

Other States and Nations

Denver, Colo.: Sydney Bender

Great Falls, Mont.: Michael Jones

Hugoton, Kan.: Katherine Lulf

Piedmont, S.D.: Megan Maxwell

Sharpsville, Pa.: Heather Wallace

Sheridan, Wyo.: Britnee Geringer, Kyle Grammens, Lacey Hewitt

Sterling, Colo.: Brande Kirby

Torrington, Wyo.: Anibal Ponce

Yoder, Wyo.: Devin Shimic

—Justin Haag, CSC Information Services


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.