47° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)- RMAC Field Athlete Of The Year Goes To Mel Herl

By: Jeremy Anderson Posted at: 05/18/2017 08:02 AM
COLORADO SPRINGS -- More accolades continued to pile up for the Chadron State College track and field squads on Wednesday, as the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference issued its annual major awards and All-RMAC lists.

Senior thrower Mel Herl was announced as the Field Athlete of the Year for the 2017 outdoor season, as well as the Co-Athlete of the Meet for the 2017 RMAC Outdoor Championships. Herl had arguably the best outdoor season of any thrower in Division II this year, reaching the all-time performers lists in three different events. She became sixth all-time discus throw, fifth in shot put, and fourth in hammer throw, breaking conference meet and school records and winning RMAC titles in all three events. She has auto-qualified for nationals in all three as well. At the conference championships, Herl racked up 30 out of 30 possible team points for the Eagles, who finished third.

Also for the women's competition, Western State's Alicja Konieczek was named the Track Athlete of the Year and Janell Fullerton of New Mexico Highlands was awarded Freshman of the Year.

Sydney Gidabuday of Adams State and Colby Stinson of Western State were the men's major award winners taking the Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year respectively. Colorado School of Mines' Jake Pinkston earned Freshman of the Year honors.

The Coaches of the Year were Adams State's Rock Light for the women, and Western State's Chris Bradford  for the men.

Also released were the All-RMAC First and Second Teams, determined by place finish at the championship meet.

In a departure from the past two years, RMAC rules were amended to award athletes earning first through third place the First Team certificate for individual events, while places four through six receive Second Team. Relays will remain unchanged with the winning team named First Team and the runner-up named Second team. The change will be applied retroactively to indoor season as well.

First Team all-conference honorees from Chadron State include, for the women: Stachia Reuwsaat (100 meters, 200 meters, long jump); Tessa Gorsuch (100 meter hurdles); Haley Gallagher (high jump, pole vault); Mel Herl (shot put, discus throw, hammer throw); Ashlyn Hanson (hammer throw); and Chasidy Horton (heptathlon).

Second Team awards go to: Alisha Heelan (400 meters); Tory Snyder (pole vault); Erin Graham (triple jump); Tessa Gorsuch (triple jump, 4x100 relay); Keri Ruff (discus throw); Ashlyn Hanson (discus throw); Sierra Martinez (4x100 relay), Chasidy Horton (4x100 relay); and Stachia Reuwsaat (4x100 Relay).

The men's First Teamers are: Alejandro Garcia (5,000 meters); Dez Smith (triple jump); Blake Jacobs (shot put); Cory Martens (discus throw); and Justin Leman (decathlon).

Men earning Second Team include: Alejandro Garcia (1,500 meters); Justin Leman (110 meter hurdles); Kahlil James (triple jump); Cory Martens (hammer throw); Blake Jacobs (hammer throw); David Aldridge (shot put, discus throw); and Gregg Peterson (decathlon).

For the indoor meet, Alisha Heelan will be upgraded to First Team in the 400 meters, while Justin Leman will receive the same boost in the 60 meter hurdles along with Blake Jacobs for the shot put. Gorsuch, Danielle Weyer, Martens, James, and Smith will all be added to the Second Team.


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.