39° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)- Ex-CSC Football Star Voted Into RMAC Hall Of Fame

By: Jeremy Anderson Posted at: 03/15/2017 09:04 AM
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Former Chadron State College football great Marvin Jackson of Cheyenne will be inducted into the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference's Hall of Fame in July.

A cornerback and kickoff return standout, Jackson was the first Chadron State athlete to earn first-team RMAC all-conference honors four consecutive years, received all-West Region honors three times and was a consensus All-American as a junior and senior in 2002 and '03.

He also was placed on the Nebraska NCAA Division II all-star team four times by the Omaha World-Herald and was selected that team's defensive captain twice. He also was voted the RMAC's Defensive Player of the Year in 2002.

Jackson holds the Eagles' record for most career pass interceptions with 22, four of which he returned for touchdowns.  He also broke up 45 more passes and participated in 207 tackles, 170 of them unassisted, forced nine fumbles and recovered four.

In addition, Jackson averaged 29 yards on 35 kickoff returns and carried two of them 93 and 83 yards for touchdowns.  He also averaged 11.4 yards on 25 punt returns.

During his career, the Eagles were 34-8 overall and 28-4 in the RMAC and won or shared two conference championships.

After concluding his eligibility, Jackson played in both the Blue-Gray Classic on Christmas Day and the first Las Vegas All-Star Bowl in January 2004.

Jackson, who was 6-foot, 190 pounds, was electronically timed in 4.46 seconds during spring practice entering his senior year.

He was the leading pass receiver and an all-state selection at East High School in Cheyenne, where he still lives. His brother, Jonath, played both football basketball at Chadron State in the late 1990s. They are the sons of Marty and Patty Jackson. She passed away when Marvin was a senior at CSC.

Jackson will be the fourth football player to enter the RMAC Hall of Fame. The others are Joe Planansky, a tight end from Hemingford who was inducted in 2005; Kevin Homer, a linebacker from Casper inducted in 2006; and Casey Beran, a defensive end from Sargent, Neb., inducted in 2013.  In addition, Brad Smith, who was the head coach when all four of them played for the Eagles, was inducted in 2011.

Others being inducted into the Hall of Fame this summer are Dominic Carollo, a wrestler from Adams State in the 1960s; Kay Dalton, the football coach at Western State 1961-65; Kristen Geyer, a volleyball player at Regis 2001-04; Don Maas, a cross country and track standout at Adams State 1988-92; and the University of Nebraska-Kearney softball team in 1999.

The Hall of Fame banquet will be at the Marriott Hotel in Colorado Springs on Friday, July 14. Tickets will be available beginning May 22.


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.