53° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Eagles thump Thunderwolves

By: Andrew Lacy Posted at: 01/16/2014 10:20 AM
by Alex Helmbrecht, CSC Sports Information

PUEBLO, Colo. - The Chadron State College wrestling team won eight matches en route to its 28-6 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference dual victory at Colorado State University-Pueblo Wednesday.

The Eagles, who have won four consecutive duals, never trailed the ThunderWolves during Wednesday's match thanks to a strong start.

Jacob Anderson got things going by earning a 10-3 decision over Jimmy Chase at 149 pounds. CJ Clark then picked up a tough 2-0 decision at 157 over Larry Schmueser and the Eagles led 6-0.

The ThunderWolves, who received votes to be ranked among the top 20 teams in Division II in the latest poll, won two decisions to make things interesting but Chadron State rallied off six consecutive victories to put the dual away.

Seventh-ranked Jordan DeBus cruised to a 12-3 major decision over Augustine DeSantis and fourth-ranked Dustin Stodola improved to 14-0 this season with his 7-2 decision over Tim Urenda at 133.

Also for Chadron State, Jay Stine pinned Richard Razo in the first period at 141.

Three of the Eagles' victories were close, beginning with Devan Fors' 3-1 decision over Riley Argyle at 197 pounds in sudden victory. Not to be outdone, heavyweight Michael Hill nipped nationally-ranked Niko Bogojevic 2-1 in a tiebreak.

Taylor Summers earned the final CSC victory with his 6-4 decision over Alex Baca at 125.

Chadron State, now 4-3 overall and 1-0 in the RMAC, will host New Mexico Highlands tonight (Thursday) in a conference dual. The first match is scheduled for 7 p.m. Admission is free to the event.

Chadron State 28, CSU-Pueblo 6
149 - Jacob Anderson, CSC, dec. Jimmy Chase, 10-3
157 - CJ Clark, CSC, dec. Larry Schmueser, 2-0
165 - Ray Hall, CSU-P, dec. Tyler Smart, 3-1 SV
174 - Trevor Grant, CSU-P, dec. Dylan Fors, 3-2
184 - Jordan DeBus, CSC, major dec. Augustine DeSantis, 12-3
197 - Devan Fors, CSC, dec. Riley Argyle, 3-1 SV
285 - Michael Hill, CSC, dec. Niko Bogojevic, 2-1
125 - Taylor Summers, CSC, dec. Alex Baca, 6-4
133 - Dustin Stodola, CSC, dec. Tim Urenda, 7-2
141 - Jay Stine, CSC, pinned Richard Razo, 2:35


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.