61° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Stodola, Hill Lead CSC Wrestlers at Kearney Tourney

By: Dennis and Kathi Brown Posted at: 11/18/2012 10:36 AM

KEARNEY – Senior Dustin Stodola of Clarkson and sophomore Michael Hill of Fort Laramie, Wyo., each placed third in their weight classes to lead the Chadron State College wrestling team at the University of Nebraska-Kearney Holiday Inn Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.
Approximately 450 wrestlers were in the tournament.
Stodola went 4-1 in the Elite Division at 133 pounds while earning third. His only loss was to Daniel DeShazer of UNK, a transfer from the University of Oklahoma. All four of Stodola's wins were over wrestlers from Central Oklahoma. Two of them were by scores of 3-2 and 4-2 over Casy Rowell, who placed fifth at 141 pounds at last year's NCAA Division II National Tournament.
Hill went 5-1 while placing third at heavyweight in the Amateur, or underclassman, bracket. His only loss was to Collin Hansen, a University of Nebraska-Lincoln wrestler who won the weight class.
Hill has placed second once and third twice while building his record to 13-3 at the first three tournaments this season. He defeated Marcus Malecek of the U.S. Air Force Academy 7-2 in the match to decide third place at Kearney.  
Two more Eagles, Chris Leak of Boys Town at 197 pounds in the Elite Division and Devan Fors of Roseburg, Ore., at 184 in the Amateur Division, finished sixth in their weight classes. Leak split his six matches while Fors went 3-2.
Spencer Hunt of Bellevue also was 3-2 at 125 pounds in the Amateur Division, but did not place. Both Bryce Wiedeman of Mitchell and Dylan Fors, Devan's twin brother, were 2-2 in the tournament.
The Eagles will not be in action during the Thanksgiving weekend, but will enter the Fort Hays State Open Tournament on Dec. 1.
The results at Kearney:
Elite Division
133—Dustin Stodola, CSC, pinned Austin McNatt, Central Oklahoma, 2:08; Stodola dec. Casy Rowell, Central Oklahoma, 3-2; Daniel DeShazer, UNK, dec. Stodola 2-1; Stodola dec. Trison Graham, Central Oklahoma, 11-4; Stodola dec. Rowell, Central Oklahoma, 4-2 for third. (Stodola 4-1).
133—Adam Joseph, UNL, tech. fall Josh McCance, CSC, 16-0; Jeremiah Peterson, Augustana, pinned McCance 2:26. (McCance 0-2).
141—Leandro Arias, CSC, pinned Tim Crocker, unatt, 6:07; Ryan Fillingame, Adams State, dec. Arias 7-5; McCade Ford, Wyoming, dec. Arias 3-1. (Arias 1-2)
157—Dakota Friesth, Wyoming, pinned Bruce Zurek, CSC, 4:43; Zurek dec. Brandon Sharkey, Concordia, 12-8; Chase White, UNK, pinned Zurek 4:19. (Zurek 1-2)
184—Jordan Debus, CSC, dec. Greg Isley, Air Force Academy, 13-6; Jahsua Marsh, Midland, dec. Debus 6-0; Tanner Keck, Central Oklahoma, tech. fall Debus 19-4. (Debus 1-2).
197—Chris Leak, CSC, dec. Hashem Omari, Kansas Newman, 10-5; Tanner Kriss, Fort Hays State, major dec. Leak 13-0; Leak dec. Brad Caris, York, 5-4; Leak dec. Sean Derry, Augustana, 6-4; Jayd Docken, Augustana, major dec. Leak 12-0; Josh Mohr, Air Force Academy, major dec. Leak 11-1 for fifth. (Leak 3-3)
285—Nick Bauman, UNL, pinned Ryley Dawson, CSC, 4:06; Bentley Alsup, AFA, pinned Dawson 2:30. (Dawson 0-2).
Amateur Division
125—Spencer Hunt, CSC, pinned Mike Rothbaum, Midland, 3:20; Drew Templeman, Wyoming, pinned Hunt, 1:28; Hunt dec. Javier Vieyra, Augustana, 5-4; Hunt dec. Alan Callahan, Baker, 6-2; Sebastia Nehis, Colby, major dec. Hunt 6-2 (Hunt 3-2)
125—Jay Stine, CSC, major dec. Brady Wurdeman, Midland, 9-1; Rhett Leach, Labette, dec. Stine 7-2; Ryan Brooks, Central Oklahoma, dec. Stine 11-6 (Stine 1-2)  
133—Ryan Bauer, UNK, dec. Bobby West, CSC, 9-7; Juan Zorilla, Labette, major dec. West 10-1. (West 0-2)
141—Paxon Fowler, Baker, dec. Jesse Larralde, CSC, 14-11; Mike Williams, Labette, pinned Larralde 3:12 (Larralde 0-2)
149—Brad Little, Fort Hays, pinned Reed Burgener, CSC-unatt, 5:45; Burgener pinned Drew Fairchild, AFA, 1:12; Troy Bainter, UNL, major dec. Burgener, 14-6. (Burgener 1-2)
157—Bryce Wiedeman, CSC, pinned Ian Ousley, UNL, 6:45; Wiedeman dec. Don Ervin, Central Oklahoma, 8-6; Colton Johnson, UNL, major dec. Wiedeman 8-0; Tyler McMichael, Midland, major dec Wiedeman 12-3.  (Wiedeman 2-2)
157--John Lewis, CSU-Pueblo, major dec. Taylor Pownall, CSC, 10-2; Cole Price, Baker, dec. Pownall 3-1. (Pownall 0-2)
165—Dylan Fors, CSC, dec. Jack Wyman, CSU-Pueblo, 6-1; Fors dec. Nick McLean, Baker, 3-0; Tyler Mergen, AFA, dec. Fors 3-2; Bill Baker, AFA, dec. Fors 2-0. (Fors 2-2)
165—Mitch Rechtzigel, Augustana, dec. Tyler Pownall 5-3 in OT; Trevor Sutton, Baker, pinned Pownall 1:07 (Pownall 0-2)
184—Devan Fors, CSC, pinned Kyle Needham, Kansas State, 2:59; Fors dec. Josh Eklund, York, 7-2; Fors dec. Payne Hatter, Labette, 2-1; Dylon Braun, Colby, dec. Fors 4-3; Landon Kieswetter, Pratt, dec. Fors 5-3 for fifth (Fors 3-2)
285—Pedro Garcia, Colby, major dec. Dillon Spies, CSC, 9-1; Travis Schmitz, Wayne State, pinned Spies, 1:30. (Spies 0-2)
285—Michael Hill, CSC, pinned Micah Kekela, Midland, 51 seconds; Hill dec. Grant Sundbye, Baker, 4-2; Hill pinned Jordan Hanson, Wyoming, 3:43; Collin Hansen, UNL, dec. Hill 9-2; Hill pinned Mike Miller, CSU-Pueblo, 1:53; Hill dec. Marcus Malecek, AFA, 7-2 for third. (Hill 5-1)


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.