37° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb)-Regional West Foundation Awards Scholarships

By: John Axtell Posted at: 12/30/2016 10:45 AM
Back row: Rebecca Volf and Justine Jobman. Front row: Jordan Zeiler, Kaitlyn Jespersen, Stephen Schlickbernd, Amy Skaggs, Rebekah Mallory.

SCOTTSBLUFF - The Regional West Foundation, the endowment arm of Regional West Health Services and Regional West Medical Center, has awarded $65,900 in scholarships to 32 area nursing students.

All the students are at the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing-West Nebraska Division, Western Nebraska Community College, or the Regional West School of Radiologic Technology.

       Foundation Director Shelley Knutson says the scholarships have 2 goals. One is to recognize and reward the dedication and achievement of the students by helping them finance their education, while the otehr is to encourage them to stay in the region after graduation, either at Regional West or in other western Nebraska communities.

       Knutson says the foundation is also grateful to the community and the Regional West employees whose generous contributions make the scholarships possible.

      Justine Peters-Jobman of Dalton and Stephen Schlickbernd of Scottsbluff were each awarded the largest scholarships - $10,000 Regional West Foundation Scholarships.

     Chadron State graduate and former distance running standout Rebecca Volf, Kaitlyn Jespersen of Hemingford, and Jordan Zeiler of Holyoke, Colo, and Chadron State were each awarded $5,000 Phyllis Gerke Nursing Scholarships.

     $2,500 Gerke scholarships went to Amy Skaggs of Scottsbluff and Chadron State Rural Health Opportunities graduate Rebekah Mallory of Mullen.

       Gerke Scholarships are available to UNMC-West Division and WNCC nursing students who have a 3.5 or higher GPA and want to work in Regional West's service area.

        Bailey Gorsuch of Alliance and Brooke Satur of Gering, both students in the Regional West School of Radiologic Technology, also received scholarships from the foundation - which awarded 22 additional memorial and honorary scholarships averaging $1,000 each to students enrolled at the UNMC College of Nursing.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.