58° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Three Vacant Chadron City Council Positions, Only One Candidate

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 02/27/2014 12:40 PM

Photo: The current Chadron city council with city manager Wayne Anderson (far left), from left: Mayor Karin Fischer, vice-mayor Levi Grant, and council members Bill Barth, John Gamby, and Paris Fisher. (Photo by KCSR News-Roxie Graham-Marski)
(DAWES COUNTY)-Time is ticking for those wishing to run for one of the vacancies available throughout the county in the upcoming primary and general elections. There are a variety of positions up for re-election this year, including Chadron and Crawford city councils, Chadron and Crawford school boards, county commissioners, and several county positions.
The race for Chadron city council is shaping up to be an interesting one, in that only vice-mayor Levi Grant is seeking re-election. Mayor Karin Fischer and council member Bill Barth have both decided not to seek re-election, leaving two vacancies on the council that do not yet have any other interested candidates.
According to Dawes County deputy clerk Deb Lesmeister, this is the breakdown of who is running for what thus far:
Commissioner, District 1
Jake Stewart-Incumbent
Wayne Fisher-New candidate
Commissioner, District 2
Stacy Swinney-Incumbent
Vic Rivera-New candidate
County Clerk
Cheryl Feist-Incumbent
County Assessor
Roberta (Lindy) Coleman-Incumbent
County Treasurer
Barbara Sebesta-Incumbent
County Sheriff
Karl Dailey-Incumbent
County Attorney
Vance Haug-Incumbent
County Surveyor
Phil Curd-Incumbent
Clerk of the District Court
Sharon Harrison-Incumbent
Chadron School Board (three vacancies)
Thomas (Tom) Menke-Incumbent
Sandra (Sandy) Roes-Incumbent
Jim O’Rourke-New candidate
Crawford School Board (three vacancies)
Marie Wohlers-Incumbent
Robert Oldfield-Incumbent
Barry Stewart-Incumbent
James Wasserburger-New candidate
Crawford City Mayor
Terrence (Terry) Haugen-Incumbent
David Nixon-New candidate
Crawford City Council-North Ward
Ed Kuhnel-Incumbent
Crawford City Council-South Ward
Roy Norgard-New candidate
Chadron City Council (three vacancies)
Levi Grant-Incumbent
________________ (Lesmeister says someone will be appointed if no one files)
________________ (Lesmeister says someone will be appointed if no one files)
Incumbents are those who have been holding the position previously. Every position that is up for re-election this year is for a four-year term. The incumbent deadline has already passed, and the deadline for new candidates is next Monday, March 3rd, by the close of business at 4:30 p.m.
The process for running for office requires some effort, but for those who want to make a positive difference in their local government, many say that effort is worth it. There is a filing fee to file with the county treasurer and some paperwork to submit in the office of the county clerk to have a name included on the ballot for the primary election. If someone is interested in the positions of county commissioner or Crawford city council, they must reside in the district for which they are petitioning.
The primary election will be held on Tuesday, May 13th, at the Assumption Arena in Chadron, and the general election will be held on Tuesday, November 4th, also at the Assumption Arena.
(Questions? Comments? E-mail news@chadrad.com.)
(Copyright 2014 KCSR/Chadrad Communications, Inc. May not be reproduced in any form without permission.)


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.