78° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Dawes, Sheridan, Sioux Counties Receive Disaster Declaration

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 10/31/2013 12:19 PM
     LINCOLN, Neb. (ASSOCIATED PRESS) - Farmers in nine northwest Nebraska counties are now eligible for federal loans to help recover from an October blizzard that killed thousands of cattle.
     The U.S. Farm Service Agency announced Thursday that it has declared Dawes, Sheridan and Sioux counties as primary natural disaster areas. The designation allows qualified farmers to seek emergency loans. The program also applies to six bordering counties: Box Butte, Cherry, Garden, Grant, Morrill and Scottsbluff.
     The loans are available to help producers recover from losses of structures, equipment and livestock. The application deadline is June 30, 2014.
     The University of Nebraska-Lincoln's extension office in Chadron has said at least 2,200 cattle died in the storm.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.