73° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Panhandle Counties Considered Contiguous Disaster Areas

By: Chris Fankhauser Posted at: 07/02/2013 01:57 PM

(Rushville)-Farm Service Agency’s (FSA) Kim Buchheit, Farm Loan Manager, announced that Sheridan Co. is one of (4) Nebraska counties designated as contiguous natural disaster areas due to severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding conditions affecting parts of South Dakota. Those counties are Cherry, Dakota, Dixon, and Sheridan.
These counties were designated a Presidential Major Disaster on June 28, 2013, based on severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding. This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers. Buchheit stated, “Producers in these counties are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated disaster designations.”

Emergency Loan applications are available for qualifying physical or production losses caused by these disaster conditions. Physical losses include structures, equipment, supplies and livestock while production losses include crops. These loans do require security and the ability to repay the loan. The deadline for submitting applications is February 28, 2014. For additional details contact the Dawes/Northern Sioux FSA office at 308-432-4616.
In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, the FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses. Contact your local FSA Service Center or access additional information about Farm Loan and FSA Disaster Assistance programs at www.fsa.usda.gov.

(Information courtesy of Farm Service Agency)


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.