54° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.) - Petersen is Top Junior High Shooter at Cornhusker Traphshoot

By: John Thayer Posted at: 05/04/2012 06:56 AM

DONIPHAN, Neb. – Casey Petersen of the Western Nebraska 4-H trap team in Mitchell was crowned the junior high school champion Thursday at the 43rd Cornhusker Trapshoot at the Nebraska Trapshooting Association home grounds, according to the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission. Petersen won with a score of 99X100 on 16-yard targets.

An empty shell flies out of the chamber as Owen Grube of the Young Guns 4-H team of Franklin shoots at a 16-yard target in the Cornhusker Trapshoot in Doniphan on Thursday. He hit 73 of 100 targets.

The Norris No. 1 team of Cole Anderson, Ian Kernes, Dylan Osterhaus, Logan Armkneckt and Terran Goering won the junior high team title with a score of 456X500.

Thursday’s action included 780 junior high competitors, 92 more than in 2011.

The trapshoot continues today with 1,273 senior high school squads shooting 100 16-yard targets today and 100 handicap targets Saturday. The overall individual winner will be awarded the Cornhusker Cup on Saturday.

The junior high results are:

Top 10 Individuals – 1. Casey Petersen, Western Nebraska 4-H, 99X100; 2. Tanner Wilson, Scotts Bluff County 4-H, 98X100; 3. Nick Bohannon, Tekamah-Herman, 97X100; 4. (tie) William Beard, Ashland Gun Club; Trent Christiancy, Young Guns 4-H; Joey Formanek, Wilber 5 Clovers 4-H; Matthew Graves, Grand Island Barr Middle School; Kolby Haase, Oak Creek 4-H; Kameran Harlan, Beatrice; Zach Krzyzanowski, North Platte St. Pat’s, 96X100.

Top Three Individual Girls – 1. Taylor Benes, Wahoo Bishop Neumann, 94X100; 2. Rebecca Svoboda, Western Nebraska 4-H, 92X100; 3. Bailey Gasseling, Lincoln Scott Middle School, 88X100.

Top Three 4-H Teams – 1. Western Nebraska 4-H No. 1, 451X500; 2.Karp and Krow 4-H No. 1, 445X500; 3. Republican Valley 4-H No. 1, 442X500.

Top Three Girls Teams – 1. Lincoln Scott Middle School Pink (Alexis Philson, Karlee Slama, Nicole Jungren, Bailey Gasseling, Aiden Johnson), 399X500; 2. Burwell No. 1, 398X500; 3. Grand Island Central Catholic No. 1, 379X500.

Top Six Teams – 1. Norris No. 1 (Cole Anderson, Ian Kernes, Dylan Osterhaus, Logan Armkneckt, Terran Goering), 456X500; 2. Waverly, 440X500; 3. Norris No. 2, 431X500; 4. Gibbon No. 2, 426X500; 5. Crete No. 1, 426X500; 6. Lincoln Scott Middle School Gold, 421X500.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.