54° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-State Corn Board Presents Awards At Annual Dinner

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 04/13/2012 06:24 PM

(LINCOLN)-The Nebraska Corn Board presented their annual awards to five Nebraskans during its Cooperator and Awards Dinner in Lincoln recently. 
The agricultural awards are the Nebraska Corn Board’s way of paying tribute to representatives in the grain elevator, livestock, and ethanol industries, as well as awarding an individual in the media, and an overall ag achievement each year. The Nebraska Corn Board feels it is important to recognize those who help promote, develop and defend not only the corn industry, but agriculture in general. 
“It is undeniable that these individuals have had a profound impact on the corn industry, their own community and the state in general,” said Don Hutchens, executive director of the Nebraska Corn Board. “Nebraska’s strength in agriculture is built on the strength of people who have the vision to grow their own businesses. Each of these individuals have added value to Nebraska’s corn, or helped communicate the importance of corn producers and what they grow.” 
The Elevator Industry Appreciation Award was given to Bruning Grain and Feed with Darreld and Tina Domeier accepting the award. Bruning Grain and Feed is an independent elevator owned by local farmers and stockholders and located in Southeast Nebraska. They were chosen for their quality of service to customers, as well as for their support of Nebraska agriculture. 
The Livestock Industry Appreciation Award was given to Harry Knobbe of West Point, Neb. This award honored Knobbe for his recognition of the value of corn and corn co-products, the corn checkoff investment toward livestock programs, and consumer education of the importance of the livestock industry to the state. 
The Ethanol Industry Appreciation Award was given to Loran Schmit, Executive Director of the Association of Nebraska Ethanol Producers, for his commitment and support of Nebraska agriculture through his work developing the ethanol industry in the state. 
The Media Appreciation Award was presented to Lori Potter of the Kearney Daily Hub newspaper for her dedication to the corn industry and helping to tell agriculture’s story. 
The Ag Achievement Award annually honors someone who has supported and expanded Nebraska agriculture, not just this year, but for many years. This award was given to Keith Heuermann of Phillips, Neb., for his vision, commitment and deep understanding of the value of agriculture and the corn checkoff to the state of Nebraska. 
More photos can be found at www.flickr.com/necornboard under “2012 Meetings and Awards.” 
--Submitted by the Nebraska Corn Board


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.